moving back to the DR?

Princesa777

Apr 13, 2008
I lived in the DR for the past 2 years with my Dominican husband, since a couple of weeks im back in my own country, because I always said I didnt want to stay in the DR for the rest of my life... So we are busy with his resident visa for here now, the plan was to stay here for 2/3 years and then move to a third country.
Now Im actually reconsidering living in the DR again, but there are a few (very important!) obstacles for me.

1. Work, I know its alot more difficult to get a job in the DR and the pay is way less. But thats not really important for me, I lived for the last 2 years on my husband dominican wages and although it wasnt much we managed.
What IS important for me is that I can find a job in something that is my dream... working in health education or development (think WHO, Red Cross etc.) ofcourse it doesnt have to be in one of those big organizations, but similar work. (I am not a medical doctor, I want to set up programmes, make plans, work in prevention, that kind of stuff)
I got my masters degree in psychology last year and just started working (since I got back in my country) and getting my first experience in this development work (or whatever u may call it)
Anyway, since I never really considered staying in the DR forever, I never really made an effort to see if it was possible for me to get this kind of job there (i just figured it was a no). Can anybody tell me if I would have a chance? or where I can even look for this kind of jobs in the DR? I lived in a tourist town and if u wanted work u just went to the bars and shops and asked for a job, but this is something completely different and I have no idea how to look for a job like this in the DR, can anybody help?