Another Scam.....or Something to be Aware Of

alanflamenco

Jan 2, 2006
This email recently appeared in my Inbox, has anyone received similar, or aware of this scenario?

Sir,

I am a consultant working at Three Hospitals on the north coast of the Dominican Republic and as such have been privy to some disturbing information.

My colleague who works in obstetrics was arrested three weeks ago for rape and for infecting a female Dominican with HIV. The problem with this is my colleague was in the military and was injured so severely that he is unable to father children. What is this to do with you I hear you ask but this is a scam involving western men.

The men involved are normally from the USA the UK or Europe. The men have lived in the Dominican Republic for a few months and sometimes a few years. What they all have in common is that they have integrated into the local community thus leaving themselves open to this abuse.It would appear that local females who are pregnant are selling the details of the men they know for cash. It is sometimes not clear if the females know what is happening to the details they have provided but as the populace is predominately poor they are happy for the monetary reward. Sometimes it may be friends or family of the girls selling the details and I did know of a couple that have been sold by people with no knowledge of either party.

The names of these men are put on a Hot List and this list is handed to local gangs who make a living out of rounding up the named men and presenting them to the authority's . The gang bosses then get one of the pregnant females to make a statement to the authority's stating they are the ones responsible for the rape and either or HIV infection. This results in the males being arrested and placed in jail. None of the evidence would stand up in a court in the USA but this seems not to matter to the local lawyers.