It's Offical... Ikea Are Coming To The D.r

j&t's future

Bronze
Mar 6, 2007
SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico: Government officials say IKEA is opening its first Latin American store in the Dominican Republic next year.

A government news release says the discount furniture retailer will invest US$65 million (?42 million) in the outlet that is expected to open in early 2009.

Dominican President Leonel Fernandez said in a statement Tuesday that he began negotiations three years ago during a trip to Spain. The outlet will be built in the capital of Santo Domingo. Details about the size of the store were not available. A message left with IKEA officials was not immediately returned.

The Swedish-based retailer sells easy-assembly furniture and housewares.

J&T

sascha

Oct 4, 2007
This is great news. More jobs for the city and IKEA is relatively inexpensive so hopefully everyone benefits. It will be a bit of a trip to see an IKEA in the DR though ;)

sascha

Oct 4, 2007
im not an expert in DR employment but i have a couple of friends who work for IKEA here in canada and in the US. from what they've told me, they get great pay and really good benefits. hopefully that is somethng that is extended to the IKEA in the DR.

DR Mpe

Banned
Mar 31, 2003

The Swedish-based retailer sells easy-assembly furniture and housewares.
?

This will be a clash of cultures, I kind of know... "easy-assembly", let us see, last time I was at the repair shop, I had to wait there quite a long time, and sat there with my beer watching the action. They assembled a toyota motor, not mine..., then I say them being confused when the motor was in place, there were still a lot of bolts and screws left... they just threw them away. Imagine what will happen now when IKEA is here. Be careful when you sit down on a chair, you never know. The one-piece-plastic-ones are easier to assemble.

Thandie

Bronze
Nov 27, 2007
Oh yes I forgot about the cookies and hotdogs and other yummy food they sell!