Is the DR a great place for US Veterans to move to?

luvsurfluvsun

May 10, 2008
Good Afternoon DR!

I am a Floridian and a US Combat Veteran. I would appreciate if anyone could answer a few questions regarding moving to the DR. I am a recently medically discharged Veteran, and was told by a beautiful young lady at the VA Clinic how beautiful Dominican Republic was. She suggested I move there and could live comfortably off my military disability which is %70. (Around $1,000 USD a month)So I am wanting to move to DR in a month or so.
1) Where do most Veterans live in DR?
2) I have been told that Punta cana, and Santiago are beautiful. Which town would be best for a young single caucasian man? (I am 40);)
3) I want to live within walking distance to the beach. Is this possible in Punta Cana?
4) Are there VA Clinics or Hospitals in DR?
5) I have a few military tattoos, if I am at the beach or a pool, am I looked down upon?
6) I am not a rich kid, nor am I discourteous, or spoiled. I have been pretty much poor my whole life, so the living conditions do not have to be extravagant. Can I find a nice rental apartment close to the beach...maybe with AC, but not required?
7) I do not want a car or scooter, so is it possible to survive in a beach town in the DR with no transportation except my two feet, or a bicycle?
8) Realistically how much money should I bring with me to find a place to move into?
9) Is it possible that someone there would hire me to provide security. I am a former US Marine and a former US Army Airborne Ranger?
10) Do you recommend I start studying up on Spanish or is it best to just wait and learn Dominican Republic Spanish?

Thank you very much for your help, time and answers.
I appreciate this Forum and all the great information.

Best Regards,
Dale

drloca

Silver
Oct 26, 2004