Votes: 2 7.4%

Votes: 2 7.4%
  • 1 = Poor

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Roberto Salcedo, mayor of the National District (PLD), has been one of the best mayors the city of Santo Domingo has had since the city was founded over 500 years ago. Numerous projects that has improved the appearance of the city, and in many cases has created areas of recreation in impoverished parts of the city has been executed by him in the last few years.

Avenida Duarte has been the city's main budget shopping artery for decades. This avenue was the epitomy of urban decay, chaos, congestion, in short a Third World bazaar.

Salcedo took interest in reinventing this important artery and a few years later after the project was initiated, Avenida Duarte has a more refined appearance. These changes certainly brings a sense of dignity to the main lower class shopping street in the country.

Here are a few pics of Avenida Duarte then (before the transformation) and now.

Then:

compra1.jpg

1147292815.08331.jpg

Now:

99E3AB43-5A16-480B-B3BA-CAADAA7DD9F3.jpeg

00004679-constrain-450x450.jpeg

00004680-constrain-450x450.jpeg

On a scale of 1 to 5, with 1= Poor and 5= Excellent, rate Avenida Duarte's new look!

Jan 5, 2006
Roberto Salcedo, mayor of the National District (PLD), has been one of the best mayors the city of Santo Domingo has had since the city was founded over 500 years ago.

Salcedo has done an excellent job. The city has gone a long way during his time as mayor.

arturo

Bronze
Mar 14, 2002
this isn't completely fair...

...but I will do it anyway. How much of a difference do you think you would see, and how much credit/blame would you give Salcedo, for a before and after photo comparison of barrios such as La Cienega, Cristo Rey, Gualey, Guachupita, Girasoles (alphabetical order, not in order of degree of blight)?