piano

Status
Not open for further replies.

ben oregon

Apr 20, 2008
Is it better to bring a piano from the usa? or easier to buy one at the DR? I will be living in Sosua .

SKY

Gold
Apr 11, 2004
In SD you can buy new pianos here.

Plaza Melodias
Edificio Galerias Comerciales
Av.27 Febrero No.54

809-472-8464
Ask for Soviesky

dreamsource

Jul 29, 2007
Seconding what JD says...

As a musician, I have two observations...

First the climate is indeed challenging to wooden instruments....
Second, shipping costs to the DR are steep. If it doesn't fit in a suitcase, or as carry on luggage, I'd rather not take the chance or absorb the financial hit.

A good, natural feeling digital is probably your best bet.

hicksy

Nov 25, 2005
I imported in my container a Baldwin Grand Piano to Sosua. Since I have residencia, I was barely taxed for it as it came under household goods. Prior to leaving Canada, and a dryer climate, I checked with the Baldwin Piano store with regards to the increase in humidity.

The expert there said, going from a dry climate to a humid climate will pose no problems, however, he said if I should move back to a dry climate it can NEVER go back. It has sat now in one place from the time it was uncrated 8 months ago and I'm truly shocked that it has stayed in tune.............since it was moved in Canada.

Rocky

Honorificabilitudinitatibus
Apr 4, 2002
www.rockysbar.com
I imported in my container a Baldwin Grand Piano to Sosua. Since I have residencia, I was barely taxed for it as it came under household goods. Prior to leaving Canada, and a dryer climate, I checked with the Baldwin Piano store with regards to the increase in humidity.