school placement in Puerto Plata area

Status
Not open for further replies.

tink23

Jul 15, 2008
Hey Everyone,

I have been reading the dr1 message boards for a while, but this is my first time posting.... I have a couple of questions regarding schools and teaching in and around the Puerto Plata area.... I am completing teachers college this coming year and I am taking a course about educating abroad... with this comes the opportunity to do an international placement... I am hoping with all of my might that I will be able to do this in Dominican Republic, but mostly somewhere on the North Coast close to Puerto Plata... This will only be a 3 week placement from mid March to the beginning of April 2009... I will most likely have to complete my placement in an elementary school, as I am focusing on the younger grades... I am hoping to start my research early so that I can find the best place possible for me. I was wondering if anyone knew of any English speaking or partial English speaking schools that would be a good fit and would appreciate having a volunteer associate teacher for a few weeks...?

Also, this is getting a little bit ahead of myself, but it is my hope that after I finish teachers college, in September 2009, that I can move to Dominican Republic for a year and teach there in a school... If there are no elementary classroom positions available, I would also love to teach English or be an English tutor...I am a single, twenty something female and will have a little bit of financial savings to move, but I will need a salary that will be able to sustain me (rent, utilities, groceries, travel, etc) while I am there... Could anyone offer any advice as to what a minimum monthly salary I would need to survive? I would do my best to keep my expenses to a minimum, but I know that life there would be a big change from what I am used to in Canada.

Thanks for you help! I'm sorry this is a bit wordy... :)

Lambada

Gold
Mar 4, 2004
www.ginniebedggood.com