Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cars in the dr

Post Thanks / Like

Default Cars in the dr

I would like to bring a car to the DR from the US. Does anyone know what is involved and how much duty and taxes are charged when it gets there?
    I am a resident.
    Thanks

Gold
    Post Thanks / Like

This is a very bad idea. Use the search function to find out why, or just take my word for it. You will be sorry if you do it.

On Vacation!
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by golferaml View Post
    I would like to bring a car to the DR from the US. Does anyone know what is involved and how much duty and taxes are charged when it gets there?
    I am a resident.
    Thanks

If you need info - you may PM me. I can share some of ten years car exporter`s experience.

Silver
    Post Thanks / Like

We did it and uless you ship it in your one time tax exempt container, I would not do it.

Bob K

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by JDJones View Post
    Ah yes, post # 1.

Quick and dirty, duty will be from 70-100% of the vehicles value, as determined by Customs, not what you say it is.

The process is a hugh pain in the butt.
    And, the value of the vehicle will not be determined by Customs until after the vehicle has arrived in the DR.

I had a vehicle shipped last summer and didn't find the process to be that difficult, with the exception of the above.

On Vacation!
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by jackquontee View Post
    And, the value of the vehicle will not be determined by Customs until after the vehicle has arrived in the DR.

I had a vehicle shipped last summer and didn't find the process to be that difficult, with the exception of the above.