Cell Phones

walshington

May 12, 2008
Hey,

My husband and I are moving to Santo Domingo in 1 week and will need to establish new cell phone service asap. What is the best service/service plan for calls within the DR? I have heard of a plan that includes calls between the US and DR for a cheap rate...do you know who carries this? Where should I start looking for information?

Thanks!!!
walshington

Empress

Jul 31, 2008
SIM card , cell phone information

Hello DR1,

This is my first time posting, and I need to get some information regarding replacing a SIM card, and possible costs. My fiance's SIM card recently stopped working and it needs to be replaced. The cost quoted by the company was quite steep approximately $300.00 US, and the representative claimed that "that is the way things are", We're really needing help to find an affordable replacement, so I'm assisting in the shopping around the only way that I know for now, whilst he asks around there.
I read previous posts on other cell phones. The phone itself seems ok for now.
Can anyone help us with a start on resonable quotes.
Perhaps a silly question, but:

do you think the entire phone should be replaced?
And are there any resonable quotes
Company
Reliable references?

Some of my family and I have visited quite a number of times, and we have SOME DR street sense (for lack of a better way to put it). I'm understanding to what the reality is, and what ppl try from time to time, but I love this site as it teaches, and prepares you so that you can function with less frustration, thank you for the effort you all put into DR1!

Thank you for any replies here, I'm really looking forward to the replies.

Empress

AK74

On Vacation!
Jun 18, 2007
Hello DR1,