Why is the DR still "developing?"

RHM

Doctor of Diplomacy
Sep 23, 2002
www.thecandidacy.com
Why is the Dominican Republic still developing?

(Click here for original)

dominican-republic-seal.jpg

I?ve received some interesting PMs and comments regarding Wednesday?s post about surving in the third world. Each seemingly asking the same question ? why? Why is it that much of the developing world is always developing? Why is it that in 2008 the differences between the developed and developing worlds are growing faster than ever? I?m going to take a shot at answering those questions but I?ll be the first to say that I am by no means an expert and if you asked a thousand people you?d probably get a thousand different theories. So, I am going to focus on what I have personally seen here in the Dominican Republic and try not to speculate too much.

There is absolutely no doubt that imperialism has played a role in the DR?s history and accounts for at least some of the causes of its current state of development. Spanish and French colonizers exterminated the native Taino Indians and exploited much of the natural resources. The country was twice invaded by the United States. The most recent interference of 1965 ousted the progressive intellectual and grandfather of modern Dominican politics Juan Bosch (he founded the two major parties, the PLD and the PRD) only to replace him with Joaquin Balaguer (the iron-fisted former right hand of the brutal dictator Generalisimo Rafael Trujillo.) Balaguer?s subsequent administrations were marked by oppression of any political opposition and a general repression of civil liberties. It makes one wonder what the country would be like if Juan Bosch would have been in Balaguer?s shoes for all of those years.