Living in Dr

Status
Not open for further replies.

sosua1

Sep 24, 2006
I am thinking of moving to DR for awhile, since I've been coming here every year for the last 8 or 9 years now. What are the proceedures in living and working in Dr. Thanks!

Mar 2, 2008
There are many people far more qualified than I am to give advice, but since no one has stepped forward yet, I'll start with one of the first steps.

Get a good attorney to handle getting your residency visa and cedula, let them handle it. It takes about a year to get your temprary, and another year to get a permenent. It will cost between 1000 and 1500 US dollars for a good attorney for the temp, and another 1000 - 1500 US for the perm.

You can do it yourself, with some knowledge of the bureaucracy and with fluency in Spanish, but in my opinion it is worth the money for an attorney.

planner

.............. ?
Sep 23, 2002
Hey Sosua1, looks like you have been around for a while. Best way to start is doing some searches. This has all been covered before. Search the boards and archives and start reading.

After that you will likely have some specific questions for us.

When are you planning the move?

sosua1

Sep 24, 2006
Thanks everyone. But I don't know when. I like to get organized first I know it takes time. So that is why I ask DR1 for some info and it's working thanks to you guy's. It's just a matter where I would like to live, any advise? Thanks again.

solisdad2000

Aug 31, 2005
Madness

Oh hell - how does one begin to answer the question about how to move here!