senior citizen health insurance

Danny W

Bronze
Mar 1, 2003
I'm a NY resident with a house and family in Sosua. My insurance agent in Sosua, Angie Wolf, tells me that if I want health insurance for myself in the Dominican Republic, I need to obtain the policy before I turn 65 - after that one cannot obtain new health insurance.

I don't know when I will become a resident of the DR, but since I turn 65 this March, I guess I need to get my insurance now even though I'm fully insured in the US.

I'm sure my situation is not unique. How have others handeled this transition?

- D

AK74

On Vacation!
Jun 18, 2007
I'm a NY resident with a house and family in Sosua. My insurance agent in Sosua, Angie Wolf, tells me that if I want health insurance for myself in the Dominican Republic, I need to obtain the policy before I turn 65 - after that one cannot obtain new health insurance.

I don't know when I will become a resident of the DR, but since I turn 65 this March, I guess I need to get my insurance now even though I'm fully insured in the US.

I'm sure my situation is not unique. How have others handeled this transition?

- D

It is very smart of you to ask a question on health insurance and health care in DR in the first place, not on relaxed life style, RE prices and beaches like some other would be relocators do.

Congratulations! You are on the correct track!

There are some American medical after service insurance plans that cover life in other countries as well, at least in my organization. So, talk to your insurance agent.

Being in DR on a permanent basis without a VERY BIG family medical insurance is a serious risk and gambling if not Russian Roulette in my opinion.

bienamor

Kansas redneck an proud of it
Apr 23, 2004
over 62

It is very smart of you to ask a question on health insurance and health care in DR in the first place, not on relaxed life style, RE prices and beaches like some other would be relocators do.