Revisit of Laptops in the DR

boca chica dave

Sep 25, 2004
Looking for recomendations for a good laptop to be used in the SD area. Realize it is best to purchase in US; but what would be the best set up with wireless etc.-- cheapest too. It will probably be ripped of in the first 5- 180 days.

Charlielyn

Bronze
Jul 31, 2005
I am also purchasing a laptop to bring to the DR. Any suggestions as to makes that are more secure than others. ie: less fragile to travel, secure wifi, should I get one with satelite wifi?, etc. I'm a newbie at purchasing this type of item. Need any and all info please.

bigbird

Gold
May 1, 2005
$600 for a decent laptop

Most all pc manufactures have laptops in the $600 price range. Intel duo core, 250 GB hard drive +/-, 2 or 3 GB ram, web cam, CD/DVD, WiFi. If you are not into heavy gaming or editing and producing a lot of videos a pc in this price range should be more than enough. About a year ago I purchased an Acer for $599 USD just to travel with. At this price if it gets lost, stolen, or misplaced I am not at a big loss. So far, I have no complaints.

One of the biggest concerns would be if you get stuck with a pc that needs repair under warranty. That would mean shipping it back to the repair center (probably in the USA).

tht

Master of my own fate.
Oct 10, 2002
Planet Earth
I've had NEC another NEC, HP, Dell another Dell and a Toshiba. My experience they all break at some stage. The only Windows version that was really working was Windows 2000 so when my Toshiba give up I'm buying a Mac and when I need a new desktop I'm buying an iMac.

BF1

Dec 7, 2007
www.aplatanados.com