Looking for some honest answers

happy traveller

Feb 1, 2007
I'm looking for some honest answers regarding whether or not i should take my child back to the DR to meet his father. I am in touch with baby daddy and we are friends, but i am unsure about the laws in the DR regarding custody, guardianship, etc. Can anyone help me??
I know that quite a few people state...just stay home, but i would really love my son to know the culture of where he came from. If anyone knows the laws regarding this issue and can share the information that would be great.

NotLurking

Bronze
Jul 21, 2003
Sto Dgo Este
I am not a lawyer but your child can NOT legally be transported out of the DR without explicit written, notarize and legalize, consent from your child's father or a court order. To avoid any headaches, BEFORE you travel, you should establish who has legal custody of the child. Also be advised that in order to apply and obtain a US passport for a minor consent of both parents is required.

Have a look at item 5 on the list of requirements to obtain a passport for a minor
Special Requirements for Children Under Age 16

Ley 136-03 para la protecci?n de Ni?os, Ni?as y Adolescentes:

Art. 110.- DEL TRASLADO O RETENCI?N ILEGAL DEL NI?O, NI?A O ADOLESCENTE. Cuando una persona, m?s all? de los derechos que le hayan sido reconocidos, retenga a un ni?o, ni?a o adolescente, o lo traslade a un lugar o pa?s diferente del que tenga su residencia habitual, sin la debida autorizaci?n, ser? considerado como traslado o retenci?n ilegal de ni?o, ni?a o adolescente. El Ministerio P?blico de Ni?os, Ni?as y Adolescentes deber? restituir al ni?o, ni?a o adolescente a la persona que legalmente tiene la guarda. Si el traslado hubiere sido a otro pa?s, deber? dar los pasos correspondientes para reclamar su devoluci?n ante las autoridades del mismo.