LIFE Magazine: Images of the Dominican Republic 1940s-1960s

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The American magazine LIFE recently published hundreds of archived photos from decades ago, of which 200 are related to the DR. They are in public domain available at the link at the end of this post.

Here are a few photos:

May 1963: Juan Bosch threatening invasion of Haiti to protect interests of Dominican Republic.
c

December 1959: Dominican boys playing happily in Ciudad Trujillo.
c

November 1959: During the trial of a group of Cubans, who claim to have been trained by the Castro army, and say they have been duped into the invasion of the Dominican Republic.
c

May 09, 1965: American soldiers standing guard in front of food distribution ctr., whose wall is painted w. message: YANKEES COME BACK, where they assist native residents during civil unrest.
c

December 1959: The Peace of Trujillo Monument in Santiago
c

December 1959: Basilica de la Ntra. Sra. de la Altagracia in Higuey.
c

October 1961: Dominican women meet members of the OAS Human Rights Commission to protest police burtality.
c

December 1959: Prisoners cutting grass with machetes at Hotel Embajador, Ciudad Trujillo.
c

December 1959: Aerial view of the obelisk in Ciudad Trujillo built by Trujillo in celebration of paying the country's debt.
c

(not dated): Rafael Leonidas Trujillo at the main entrance to the National Palace, Ciudad Trujillo.
c

1939: President of the Dominican Republic General Rafael L. Trujillo, making a toast with Haitian Minister Lescot. Notice, this photo was taken 2 years after the massacre.
c

See more by clicking here.

-NALs

Reactions: Frank the Tank

JRMirador

Snap!
Oct 15, 2008
Las Lomas de Azua
December 1959: Aerial view of the obelisk in Ciudad Trujillo built by Trujillo in celebration of paying the country's debt.