getting back a deposit..

BabyBlu

Jan 20, 2004
Hey legal section! Hope you guys can help me out..
I have been renting a house for almost 3 years, but will be moving in January. As per the contract I am to give the landlord 1 month notice that I am leaving. Okay so I did that,gave him 2 months notice, but I am nervous that he is not wanting to give me my deposit back. What happens if on the day i have moved out and he inspects the place, he does not give me my deposit? BTW the house is in the same condition as when he rented it to me, so I should be getting every peso back. I know some people just live out their deposit, but also in the contract it says that is not allowed. So lets say if he doesn't give me my money, do I not give him his keys? Just wanted some advice in advance, I am really counting on that deposit money! Thanks !

Reactions: rellosk

BabyBlu

Jan 20, 2004
I'm so sorry could've sworn I posted this in the legal section...Anyway to move it???:ermm:

mike l

Silver
Sep 4, 2007
The only way to make sure is to live out your deposit.

Do you want your'e money or don't you?

He can't evict you in 30 days so go for it.

let's say you're a nice guy and trust this person and he does not give your deposit back then what are you going to do.....you'll be back here asking how do i get my money back and the advice then is don't waste your time as you will need to spend more than it's worth

BabyBlu

Jan 20, 2004
Well I can say that I don't trust him!!! I have no problem living out the deposit ( 33,000= 3months) but in the contract I signed it does state that a deposit cannot be lived out. Now I don't want to get screwed but I also don't want to get in trouble by staying here for 3 more months living off the deposit. My landlord is a lawyer and just happens to work for the goverment office that issues the impedimento de Salida, so I don't know how much trouble he can cause me for refusing to leave

mike l

Silver
Sep 4, 2007