The New Fast and the Furious filmed in DR

theman

Aug 25, 2008
I saw the preview of the upcoming movie Fast and the Furious 4, and they say it was filmed in DR, was it really? In what area?

stormtroops

Dec 16, 2008
Yes i saw the trailer, And i dont believe that is dr, and if it is SOMEONE tell me WHERE in the DR that is!!!

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I haven't seen the trailer and probably will not see the movie, but keep in mind that many movies that are filmed in the DR do not have the DR in their storyline. More often than not, they film a movie on spot in the DR and then they digitally modify the location to make it seem like another place.

Remember Miami Vice? Much of that movie was filmed in the DR, but you wouldn't know that by simply watching the movie. Even the parts that they filmed in Capotillo, in the movie those areas were used to represent Haiti as the place in the movie from where the drug dealers were taking the drugs to the U.S.

That has been one of the criticisms I have towards this practice, since attracting movie producers to the DR is meant to boost Dominican tourism. However, I don't think it will have the desired effect if the movies don't incorporate the DR in their scripts and if the do that, they must present the DR in a positive light. There is nothing positive about making the DR seem like a drug smuggling place, for example.

They need to include the DR into the storyline and in a positive light; that would be a perfect marketing tool for the Dominican tourism industry.

-NALs

DRob

Gold
Aug 15, 2007
The trailer has a location subtitle that reads Dominican Republic, but info on the movie states the action takes place in Mexico.

Jun 18, 2007
www.rentalmetrocountry.com