US Citizen Child Dominican Mom

donluis99

Bronze
Jul 12, 2004
My case

American Father with child born to Dominican Mother in the DR.

I pay child support as I should, amount as requested by the mother.

We have agreed joint custody/visitation agreement in contractual form.

Our actual Relationship (the mothers and mine) is quite stressed, we no longer get along very well.

So I have pending to declare the child in the US embassy, where she will be recognized as a US Citizen and receive her SS #.

Now in order to declare a child, one must sign a document that one is willing to support the child in the USA, this is fine and understandable and in practice I fully agree.

Which brings me to the following question:

In as I am a non-US resident, if the mother somehow manages to acquire a US visa, and somehow manages to take my child to the USA, can she solicit child support from a US court?

Is there any way she can solicit child support from a US court from the DR.

My intention is to make the declaration of the child as a US citizen, but I have no intention of giving the mother the child passport. I will give it to the child when she turns 14 and only then as long as I am a DR resident.

My concern is she and her family are not at all my friends, indeed they have become my enemy.

I live and work here in the DR, I have my present wife with three children, I maintain a good relationship with my child of this woman.

But my concern is US court, by US standards could issue a fatal judgement as far as amount goes, because certainly if it could be done, it would be done without my knowledge and without the facts that:

1. I presently support my child as agreed with the mother.
2. I have four other person whom depend on my support as well.

Also second part of question: Are IRS records, tax return available in any way to:

1. US Child support courts
2. The other Dominican parent of my US citizen child.