Anyone taken a cruise out of Santo Domingo?

vevy

Feb 14, 2006
Has anyone in the DR1 audience taken a cruise out of Santo Domingo? I see that the cruise vessel (RCL) Vision of the Seas is offering 7 and 14 day cruises around various islands starting in January, 2009. Would like to hear commentary from anyone who has taken a cruise originating out of Santo Domingo or possibly Puerto Rico.

jrhartley

Gold
Sep 10, 2008
cruise

yes I have - it was a different ship last year though. I went for a week it went to st lucia,guadeloupe,barbados,st kitts and matinique in february , we booked about two weeks before it went and it cost around $500 - excellent and possibly cheaper than staying at home lol

oops i meant to send as a private message

snowbird44

Oct 29, 2004
I am looking exactly for such a cruise where I don't have to go to the US first.
Could someone post some links?

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
You should contact travelnet either at their phone 809-534-7440 or their website (travelnet.com.do) to get more info on this cruise.

Right now they are offering cruises for Jan, Feb, and March of next year departing from SDQ with ports of call in Guadeloupe, Martinique, Barbados, St Lucia, Margarita Island, St Martin, and Aruba.

Contact them for more info. They have been advertising their cruises in many Dominican magazines geared towards the moneyed classes.

-NALs

snoozer

Jan 22, 2004
Can Dominicans take these cruises with a passport only or do they need a visa to visit some of the islands?

Matilda

RIP Lindsay
Sep 13, 2006
Last year it was passport only but after a few weeks of cruising they changed it to Dominicans needing a Schengen visa after around 50 of them jumped ship in Guadaloupe. Suggest you check with your travel agent.

Matilda

snoozer

Jan 22, 2004
I just checked out what a Schengen visa is and it says it is for travel in most countries in Europe but not for the Carribean. How does this work?

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002