Jobs: Cabarete/Sosua

PequenaTortuga

Feb 19, 2007
Hello!
I will be relocating to the island in a few weeks. I've already lived in the Dominican previously, but, was young.
Now, as I move back, I will need a job. I am wondering if anyone can offer any advice?
I know the opportunities in that area are slim... but, I'm willing to take the pay cut, and make some compromises in order to live on the island.
My skills are broad, I'm a certified Kodak Photo Technician, was trained as a Pharmacy Technician (although not certified), and also currently work as a secretary in a nursing home.
I have a strong background in art, and have participated in shows for the past 8 years. I have the capacity, and experience to teach art to elementary aged students, but again, am not certified. My qualifications are based on experience alone. Because of my background in art, I've also had the opportunity to plan and execute events (gallery showings, and music concerts).
Soooooo, like I said, I'm pretty marketable.

Any suggestions of places to go and people to speak with about jobs upon my arrival on the island would be So Very Helpful.

MBG

Nov 13, 2008
Hi! Pequena Tortuga!

I have to agree with windeguy...And about the International School in Sosua, I have checked it out already and if you're not certified you can't teach (I'm a teacher by the way). Unless things have changed teaching would not work out for you.

Our best bet as foreigners are the hotels/airport (agent for a foreign traveling agency), as far as I know.

Hope I helped

Godd luck!

scrubmuncher

On Vacation!
Jul 6, 2007