CSA. Community Supported Agriculture

Stuart Polkinghorne

Nov 13, 2008
I am new to the Dominican Republic, my wife and I have a farm near La Romana. At the moment we don't have the funds to move there and start working the land.
A CSA is a farm that sells shares in the corps grown, distributed weekly to homes or pick up points.
Crops of fruit and veg, herbs, eggs, milk and meats if the demand is there or if share holders want it.
I see it as a way of getting the farm working, giving families fresh organic/ free range produce at a below market prices. To known where their food comes from and how it's grown. Also to teach others farming methods with out harmful chemicals and fertilizers.
My question is.

Is there any CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) projects going in the Dominican Republic?
What is the demand for fresh organic produce, grown local?

Would love any input or comments.

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
Not sure if there are any CSA projects as such but you could get in touch with Fundaci?n Agricultura y Medio Ambiente (FAMA) in the capital who do organic certification, support organic farmers and sell their produce for advice and contacts.
Contact Dra. Andrea Brechelt or Clara Fernandez
Calle Ana Josefa Puello No. 33
Mirador Sur, Santo Domingo
829-435-8190
mercado_ecologico@yahoo.com
fama@codetel.net.do

MikeFisher

The Fisherman/Weather Mod
Feb 28, 2006
Punta Cana/DR
www.mikefisher.fun
welcome to the bord, Stuart.
nice idea, keep us up to date how it is running.
a very old chemical free running plantation is the Barcelos up in Hato Mayor, they grow their ginas naturally and sell their juices even to europe, and that since decades. sorrily i do not have a contact address/e-mail/phone number of them.
maybe somebody else on the bord can fill that leak.
good luck
Mike

donmobay

Say what ! ???
Dec 10, 2005
im in