why do you live here?

latka

Feb 13, 2009
Hello.
I have been reading forum posts here for a couple of days.
I live in the U.S., and am looking for a cultural shake up of my life. I have a couple of degrees, and have been and educator for more than a decade. I want a change of pace from the rat race. I am at the point in life where I question seriously the concept of being caught up in a race to gain the most things before one dies.

In addition, I think it would be a very sad thing to have lived and died knowing only the U.S. culture (or lack thereof, in may respects). I have an eye on Canada, as it seems the culture is more quality of life oriented as opposed to quantity of life oriented. I am also impressed with the fact that, while in Canada, I am not as nearly as hamstrung by racial stereotypes and racist practices as I am in the U.S.
I am not so naive as to assert there is no racism in Canada; I just think it is far more ingrained an pronounced in U.S. society.

My needs are simple: food, clothing, shelter, and a sense of community. The only luxury I'd like to continue to entertain is art related. I'd like to be able to continue to make art: painting, drawing, and black and white photography.

Thank you for patiently indulging my long - windedness thusfar. I am curious, especially with respect to those from the States, why you chose the D.R. as a home.

Last edited:

Matilda

RIP Lindsay
Sep 13, 2006
why do I live here???

1. Because I laugh every day
2. Because I get up in the morning looking forward to the day
3. Because you forget thinking about yourself and marvel at the unselfishness of Dominicans
4. Because people really care about each other and look out for each other
5. Because you can make a difference
6. Because it is a beautiful country
7. Because all you need in life is food, friends, shelter and you learn to understand that the consumerism of the countries like mine (UK) and yours does not make you happy