what is the best travelers medical insurance?

rsg

Bronze
Oct 21, 2008
does anyone know how or where to obtain the best travelers medical coverage in the dr. I have my insurance in the dr. but i have a lot of friends that vacation here and have no coverage here, and it was my nieces friends that were involved in that bad accident in puerta plata.

drloca

Silver
Oct 26, 2004
Would they not obtain their travel insurance policies in their country of origin for coverage abroad? That is always how I have done it and I am not aware of one being able to purchase it at their point of destination.

It would not be valid if purchased after the accident unfortunately. Sorry to hear about the accident.

bubba153

Jan 24, 2009
I use the policy from travelex.com. i have been buying the policy for many years and unfortunately in june i needed to use it when i dislocated and broke 4 bones in my wrist. they paid for everything while i was on the island and my US based provider paid for the treatment in the US.
You basically submit the bills you incurred on vacation and they reimburse you. you will need a doctors letter describing your injury while on vacation
Wayne

Ricardo900

Silver
Jul 12, 2004
I've used Access America a few times, but I never had to file a claim with them or ever heard anything negative about the company. I usually pay around $20 a trip, which includes several things including $50,000 (emergency medical transportation) $10,000 (medical & dental) and trip delay plus cancellation. I believe they also offer rental car collision coverage.

La Mariposa

Bronze
Jun 4, 2004
does anyone know how or where to obtain the best travelers medical coverage in the dr. I have my insurance in the dr. but i have a lot of friends that vacation here and have no coverage here, and it was my nieces friends that were involved in that bad accident in puerta plata.

Sorry about your friends nieces.