Telecom in DR - for report

jearod

Jan 29, 2009
Hello all,
I am currently in my last semester of my Management Information Systems degree and I'm taking an international telecommunications class. Our main project is a "country report" in which I have to choose a country and complete an intensive study of the telecommunications industry. The past summer, my family visited Punta Cana for a week and I absolutely loved the country. So much so, I am choosing the DR as my country since it is "considered one of the countries with the most advanced telecommunications infrastructures in Latin America."

One of the main parts of the project is interviewing at least 1 person that has lived in the country for some extended period of time. Although I haven?t gotten too deep into my report yet (hence no specific questions yet), the questions will pertain to telecommunications customs, product preferences, buying habits, types of telecommunications services and equipment used, etc. in the DR.
If anyone is willing to allow me to ?interview? them via PM or E-mail and has lived in the DR at some time, PLEASE let me know. This is the most difficult part of the assignment as I don?t personally know anyone from DR.

With that being said, I will post some questions on here from time to time for everyone to discuss (hopefully).

When we visited Punta Cana, I noticed my phone connected mainly to Claro. I know there are many others such as Orange and Verizon, but what seems to be the choice of the population?
Also, penetration of broadband in DR looks fairly high, how do most of you living there receive it and about how much does it cost? DR appears to be putting a lot of effort into WiMax, will that be the future of broadband access there?
These questions are just to get the ball rolling so please don't hesitate to ponder on other aspects of telecom.
Thanks everyone, any thoughts are appreciated!
Jearod

bienamor

Kansas redneck an proud of it
Apr 23, 2004
ok

Hello all,