Who are the Police , Military etc

May 5, 2007
What exactly is the hierarchy of the police/military in the DR?

Ie; Is it National Police, AMET, Tourist Police, Local etc and Military having concurrent jurisdiction or?

I have a friend who is what in the US would be an O-9 or Lt. General who seems impervious to civilian law and it confuses me, are the military not covered by civilian laws?

there also seems to be completely separate organizations such as the Marine Police (Black and white camo uniforms) etc. Maybe I need an explanation of the different military functions to fully understand this

I recall reading some history, the 1965 occupation by the US specifically and it seem there is a "special" group that Wessin led that was not under command of National Authority or?

thanks

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
Military men are not civilians, so why would anyone think they would be subjected to civilian law?

They have their own schools, their own hospitals, their own courts, their own everything.

-NALs

May 5, 2007
Military men are not civilians, so why would anyone think they would be subjected to civilian law?

They have their own schools, their own hospitals, their own courts, their own everything.

-NALs

I never realized the DR was under MArtial law

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com

-NALs

In most countries Military are subject to two sets of laws- Military and Civil.

May 5, 2007
Who is who, not who is subject to what

I'm assuming the average soldier is subject to Civil Law, but General so and so is untouchable .It was the Police Hierarchy and the Military also IF they (Military) act as a domestic Police force also

Is there a National Police, Municipal PD's, regional PDS, "special" Police etc

As in the US you have in each State A State Police, County or Parish Police and Municipal Police