Dominican Spanish

What is your opinion about Spanish spoken in the DR as compared to other countries?

• Excellent

Votes: 5 5.2%
  • Very good

Votes: 4 4.2%
  • Good

Votes: 29 30.2%
  • Fair

Votes: 30 31.3%
  • Poor

Votes: 28 29.2%

• Total voters

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
What is your opinion about Spanish spoken in the DR as compared to other countries in the Spanish-speaking world?

(before responding consider grammar, clarity of speech, spelling, speed, usage of regionalisms and slang and your over all perception of the quality of Spanish of the average Dominican based on your personal experiences)

a) Excellent - easy to understand, clear speech by most speakers, good grammar with few exceptions, very close to what is considered the standard.

b) Very good- easy to understand, clear speech by most speakers, good grammar with few exceptions, very close to what is considered the standard, limited usage of regionalisms, colloquialisms etc.

c) Good- not always easy to understand but certainly a noticeable difference between educated and non-educated speakers. Noticeable usage of colloquialisms, regionalisms, slang etc.

d) Fair- not easy to understand. Noticeable usage of colloquialisms, regionalisms, slang, grammatical errors on the part of the speaker, poor spelling, speakers speak using the typical icons of the Dominican vernacular all the time.

e) Poor- uneducated speech, poor grammar, poor spelling, speakers use typical Dominican speech patterns, adds /s/ where they do not belong etc.

Poll prepared and requested by Marianopolita.

-NALs

Chip

Platinum
Jul 25, 2007
Santiago