"Los Dominicanos en Alta Mar"

Marianopolita

Former Spanish forum Mod 2010-2021
Dec 26, 2003
I just saw a commercial on Univision. The theme of today's weekly program Aqu? y Ahora is Dominicans who cross the Mona channel to go to Puerto Rico. I have a satellite dish, Dish Network, and it will be on @10PM on channel 827 or if you have a local Univision station you can tune in.

I just saw the commercial again. Tonight's show is a special edition.

Here is the link to the website: Aqu? y Ahora, esta semana trata el tema "Los Dominicanos en Alta Mar" - Aqu? y Ahora - Univision Foro / Forum

/mplta

Reactions: Bronxboy

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I wonder if Univision will mention that yola trips are way down.

I doubt it.

-NALs:tired:

Marianopolita

Former Spanish forum Mod 2010-2021
Dec 26, 2003
'Los Dominicanos en Alta Mar' on Aqu? y Ahora

An excellent documentary was aired last night on Univision?s weekly program Aqu? y Ahora titled 'Los Dominicanos en Alta Mar' which examined the dangerous crossings ventured by Dominicans hoping to reach Puerto Rico via the Mona Channel. In spite of the inherent risks involved in such an undertaking, Dominicans who dear to make the voyage embark upon fragile man made yolas that are built to last only one day at sea often are overturned in the violent waters of the Caribbean Sea and Atlantic Ocean long before the sixty mile voyage to Puerto Rico is completed. As stated by one of US Coast Guards in the documentary, 'once a yola is spotted it immediately becomes a rescue mission' to save lives. Those who don?t make it and die, whatever remains of their bodies are found with clear evidence of being eaten by sharks are buried in a cemetery in Puerto Rico for unidentified Dominicans.