Best Way to Handle Money???

austin s

Feb 18, 2009
hey all - will be in santo domingo for the month of april, US citizen, and was wondering how best to handle cash - im new to the whole traveler's check thing, so could use some help understanding how that works...

i plan on having a certain amount of cash (US $) on hand to exchange upon arrival (as have done in the past), but want to have a stable source of back-up cash without risking having it on me - are travelers checks the way to go? and how do they work? I will not be staying in high-class resorts or anywhere that would take checks, but would like a way to access money via a bank/exchange? Would i be able to walk into any bank with a travel-check and exchange it for cash without huge fees? Total newb here.

sorry if this is poorly worded - but thanks for any detailed responses.

Feb 7, 2007
You are better off with an ATM debit card and a credit card. While you will be able t get the check exchanged at CASA DE CAMBIO, they are a hassle.

Jan 17, 2009
Agreed. A hotel may take a travelers check and change it a good rate, but exchange houses would give you a lower rate for travelers if they take it at all. Bring a couple of ATM cards (just in case one gets demagnetized or you lose it; that's what I do, travel with two, leave a spare one in hotel safe all the time).

BTW, if you happen to have a simple ATM card (not a debit card), much better. With a debit card (which are issued by VISA), VISA takes between 2-3% commission from you foreign transactions. I asked my Credit Union for just a simple ATM card and save all those extra charges.

austin s

Feb 18, 2009
i do not own an ATM card - it looks like most banks in Santo Domingo cash travelers checks - is it just dealing with the banks themselves that is such a hassle? Long lines?

Mar 2, 2008
If you have a bank account you should be able to get an ATM card. All you have to do is ask your bank to give you one.