Dominican Beef - Yuk or Not bad?

cobraboy

Pro-Bono Demolition Hobbyist
Jul 24, 2004
Unfortunately I start to give up on the dominican beef.
I'm not a cattle expert, but I always wondered why is it?
Are they just waiting till they are getting way to old?

The Hun
I thionk it's because Dominican cattle afr pretty much all free ranging. They eat what's in a field, whatever grows wild. I don't see much use, if any, of good purpose-grown hay, nor do I hear of any being corn fed prior to slaughter.

That is why, I imaging, the beef if very lean, tough and tastes the way it does.

I bought what looked like some good local churrasco at Price Smart, and prepared it exactly how I would the imported. I couldn't eat it, and was sorely disappointed.

Ezequiel

Bronze
Jun 4, 2008
I thionk it's because Dominican cattle afr pretty much all free ranging. They eat what's in a field, whatever grows wild. I don't see much use, if any, of good purpose-grown hay, nor do I hear of any being corn fed prior to slaughter.

That is why, I imaging, the beef if very lean, tough and tastes the way it does.

I bought what looked like some good local churrasco at Price Smart, and prepared it exactly how I would the imported. I couldn't eat it, and was sorely disappointed.

I love the beef in the DR, i don't eat beef here in the State, all my Dominican friends here in the State don't eat the beef here, i guess different taste.

Jan 17, 2009
Congratulations on your first year in the DR, and thanks for taking the time to post such a comprehensive account of your observations and experience.