Masters in Dominican history - need info

Status
Not open for further replies.

YOLUC

Mar 29, 2009
Hey everyone,

I am new at this, and I thought this would be the perfect (I hope) place to get the information I need. I just graduated college last December and as I give myself intervals between grad school and deciding in what area I wanted to further my studies, I realized that Dominican history was it.
Before anything I'll introduce myself: I am 24 years old and was born in the Dominican Republic. Imoved to the US when I was nine with my two maternal sisters. I am from Barahona and most of my family still lives down there. I am a dark skinned Dominican woman and have constantly been the target of offensive comments because of my complexion.

I dont' want to make my thread about racism, but it is a factor. Because of the constant stereotype and being told that I couldn't possibly be Dominican, but Haitian, I want to further understand the history and the root of the conflict between Dominicans and Haitian. I want to explore Dominican identity, the idea of cleansing the race, more on the culture, self-image, the list goes on and on... I just started reading Why the Cocks Fight, by Michele Wucker (Just thought I should throw that in there in case anyone would want to suggest it)

I decided that I want to get my masters in Dominican history (it's more complex than that). What better place do this than the Dominican Republic? I am very passionate about this issue, and I feel that through it I'll be able to define myself and not judge those that judge me too harshly. To call all the Dominicans, who question my "true" nationality because of my dark skin, racist as ignorant as saying their assumption. This what I've done, call them ignorant for not accepting me, but there is so much more to it than that.

Here's where your assistance comes in: Are there colleges/Universities that offer such an in-depth field? Will they be accredited in the US?