Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default WIFI Internet help Please

    Hi,

    I am hoping you guys be able to help me answer a wireless broadband question, which I have been unable to get a confirmed answer to.

    I live in the UK and will be visiting the Dominican Republic on holiday in May, and would like to use my laptop for internet connection while there. In the UK we have 2 main providers of wireless broadband access, a company called 3 and Vodafone, but unfortunately neither seem to be able to confirm that I would be able to access the internet in the Dominican Republic.

    I do know that the hotel we will be staying at has WIFI access at a charge of $15.00 per day! “Bit expensive as not planning on spending all day, each day on the net”.
    Any help or advice you would be able to give would be much appreciated, as I am getting no were fast in the UK.

    Many thanks
    Stewart.

  2. #2
    DR1
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    6,739
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    There are wi fi places in every destination, usually a restaurant that offers the service. The problem may be, though, in getting to those places. For example, if you are staying in Punta Cana, taxis are expensive, and public transportation is time-consuming. Always best to choose a hotel that has wi fi included in the fee. You may also consider the plus of taking a vacation from the Internet.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    Smile Thanks Dolores

    Hi

    Thanks for your reply, and I can defiantly say I would not be spending very much time on the internet. It will be our forth visit to the DR which my wife and I love very much. We wanted to have access to the internet to keep in touch with the kids while we are away.
    The hotel we are staying at is on Cayo Lavantado which dose have wifi in the lobby area (which I think is called a hotspot?), what I was hoping someone would know is if I have my own prepaid wireless broadband access would I be able to pick up a signal so to speak.

  4. #4
    Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    129
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You can pick up the signal as long as you have built in wireless/wifi on your laptop, pretty much any newer laptop has this feature. Now, the wifi/hotspot connection has nothing at all to do with your at home internet connection.

    So I believe your original question is can you use your at home internet to connect to the net here in the DR, the answer is NO. You will need to connect through a wifi/hotspot wirelessly and there may or may not be a charge for this. You say the hotel charges so you would need to pay, but perhaps the hotspot at the lobby area is free???

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    Smile Hi krwilson

    Thank you very much for the info. my laptop does have wireless wifi, and I can pay for a service in the UK which should give me world wide access as long as I have means of receiving a signal (I think!), but no one here seems to be able to advise me for sure!

    Thanks again
    Stewart.

  6. #6
    Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    129
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    It would have to be a signal that was from this worldwide access company. Which I do not think you would find here. And why the company selling this service cannot advise you would bother me.

    Because, otherwise you must connect through an existing wireless connection, that may or may not be free.

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Hi krwilson,

    As i am sure you can see my technical knowledge is “very limited”! But from what I understand the service I purchase here will give me access in the UK, and aboard at an additional charge per mb. I therefore think the service would be linked through a local net work in the DR? But unfortunately some over here say yes it works in the DR and others say not sure, which does not help which is why I thought the best people to ask are the guys that live there.

    Again I am grateful for your time and help.

  8. #8
    Gold
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7,116
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Many hotels say "24 hours" but they give you 24 hours use-as-you-wish, instead of 24 hours uninterrupted. Your best bet is to call the hotel - guest services - and ask. Many times the hotel has Internet contracted to a third party and you can talk to them.

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Hi rubio,
    Thank you, I have asked the hotel guest services but they tell me I have to purchase a code each day and could not give me any other advice when I tryed to explain I would bring my own laptop.

  10. #10
    Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    129
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    The problem you seem to be facing is this; to get on the internet you need an available connection, which at this point seems to be what the hotel offers at a price. Without paying you will not be able to access the internet and thus not be able to access this other network you speak about.

    So, the choice is to take your laptop and maybe there is a hotspot at a cafe/restaurant/interent cafe nearby with better pricing, or pay the hotel. Perhaps they offer an hourly rate.

    At any rate, I would not pay for an additional service that cannot supply you with information as to the operation of their service! IMHO.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •