Generator Cost

mikespeedy

May 29, 2009
What should I expect to pay for a generator to support 20 computers in an office? Where can I see these for sale online?

I am new to this idea so any advise is excellent

Mike

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
There are a bunch of good people here that can help you.

You need to say where you are going to be located, too.

Of course, the genset (that's the industry term for them) needs to have a large power inverter so that there is NO power loss, ever, for the computers. The switchover is instantaneous and not felt by the computers.

Then the electrical installation needs to have a control panel that will:
1) Realize the lights went out
2) Start the generator
3) Provide good current
4) Realize when the current comes back on
5) Shuts down after a short cool-down period

There are plenty of people that can handle this. Costs, depending on what else besides the 20 computers are going to be on line...like the A/C, lightening, etc...

HB
2)

mikespeedy

May 29, 2009
Not sure the location yet. Ill have that figured out this week. It will be in Santo Domingo.

How can I tell what areas have more blackouts then others? That and the internet connection issue will determine the space rented

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Oh man, are you in for a bunch of headaches...

Let me know if I can be of help...

HB

cobraboy

Pro-Bono Demolition Hobbyist
Jul 24, 2004
Hillbilly laid it out.

Each of your computers should be connected to a UPS/surge protector, period. They, in turn, should be plugged into your office main electrical service. I'd recommend a good invertor system that powers your panel for everything but a/c and water heater.

There are numerous generators available to handle the charging of the invertor system if you lose street power for any length of time. Computers don't use a whole lot of energy, so it's possible to have enough batter connected to your inverter to have them operate for many hours.