So, they got me too...

ExtremeR

Silver
Mar 22, 2006
Crime got me tonight in SD where I was mugged at gunpoint in the Costa Azul area (near the Cabanas of el 12), that place is a preferred spot for the SD youth to go with their couple and be relaxed sightseeing the moon and the Haina port scenery. They took from me 1 cell, my Mido watch, my ring, my wallet, and from my companion they took the purse (2 cellphones in the purse) and a watch.

I thought of reacting, but then I remembered the case of the son of the Diputado who was killed in a resisted mug attempt, and preferred to give them everything they asked, they even asked for my gun, but I don't have one. So guys living in SD, whenever you go to El Maleconcito of Costa Azul, be very aware of the surroundings, I had over 10 years going to the same place and this is the first time that I have had that experience. It is my first time getting mugged, and I was born and raised here.

Civilian security sure has taken a toll here in the DR, because those guys made their moves and there were a couple of cars next to us with couples inside and they didn't even noticed the atraco.

Thandie

Bronze
Nov 27, 2007
Civilian security sure has taken a toll here in the DR, because those guys made their moves and there were a couple of cars next to us with couples inside and they didn't even noticed the atraco.

Sorry to hear about your awful experience. I am happy you or your companion was not physically hurt.
One question were you sitting inside or outside your car when this happened?

ExtremeR

Silver
Mar 22, 2006
We were standing outside the car talking, like leaning over the door of the car. Yes, that was my first thought after they left, that we got out of it safe, because the last one I heard was horrific: