"Blending in as a Dominican?"

NYC2DR

Nov 24, 2008
I'm moving to the DR from New York City in January 2010 to live there for a year. I'm a professional and my objective is to learn Spanish fluently in 12 calendar months. I have plenty saved, so it doesn't matter if I work or not. Either way I'll be making my contribution to the Dr in a positive way. Besides leaving all of the jewelry and expensive electronics at home how can I "blend in" safely? I want to simply learn ways to appear LESS American. Also I want to make myself LESS of a target. I'm a New Yorker, so I will definitely use common sense that I was raised with, but you never know everything. Especially about a different country.

I hear that natives will spot me out immediately. I would assume not, but you never know.

I'm staying with a host family, so I'm sure they'll guide me, but I'm hoping to gain as much insight as possible with 5 months before the plunge. Tips?

My ears and eyes are open.

jrhartley

Gold
Sep 10, 2008
Ive yet to be suprised to find that someone is not Dominican if you know what I mean lol .Unless you are the master of disguise you will be spotted.

The tips in the above thread will help minimise your gringoness

I think I confused myself lol

NYC2DR

Nov 24, 2008
Thanks. I think you were saying "It's never hard to spot a person who is not native" No matter how hard one tries, if they are not native they can be spotted. I'm sure this is true.

I understand completely. I will do my best to live "like" a Dominican within reasonable guidelines. I will basically live by this quote "When in ROME do what the ROMANS do."

Thanks

Chip

Platinum
Jul 25, 2007
Santiago
Search the forums as this has been discussed at lenght.