Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: cell phone

  1. #1
    Regular
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default cell phone

    CAn you bring your old sprint and verizon phones and use them in dr?

  2. #2
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    551
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Sprint No. Verizon yes but you need to decode it.

  3. #3
    Silver
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4,021
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Sprint will work fine with any all the companies except Orange. Nextel will not work in the DR.

  4. #4
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    551
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    [quote=Luperon;765013]Sprint will work fine with any all the companies except Orange.quote]

    Sprint is not GSM, only works within US.

  5. #5
    Bronze
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    701
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    sprint will work with tricom that is cdma

  6. #6
    Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    385
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You donīt have to disconet the phone to use in DR, all you have to do is get it unblock so you can use the local Claro, Orange or Viva cell phone sim cards, I do this everytime with my Tmovil cell phone.

  7. #7
    Gold
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7,102
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    You can still use any CDMA phone on Claro, they still work and they still sell them on Duarte for 100 pesos

  8. #8
    Silver
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4,021
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    CLARO .. uses cdma and gsm
    TRICOM... uses cdma
    VIVA...uses cdma and gsm
    ORANGE... uses gsm

    Is this still correct?

    Better to get phones unlocked before coming to the DR, ask your carrier for codes. But if locked many places unlock for 100-300 peses.

  9. #9
    Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    50
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    how does sprint work without sim cards? Is it because claro accepts CDMA?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •