Me voy!

evenyc

Dec 10, 2008
So am heading back to Santo for a few weeks to start my wedding prep! I haven't visited in close to 10 yrs YIKES! So what's new? I hear there's a freaking train and an Ikea!

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
We have a Metro, 1 line, useless for 95% of the population.
Ikea is scheduled to open at the end of this year.

A lot has changed in 10 years, be prepared to spend a
long time in traffic :)

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
You will not recognize the place. Its a completely different country in almost every aspect.

-NALs

Mr. Lu

Bronze
Mar 26, 2007

You will not recognize the place. Its a completely different country in almost every aspect.

-NALs

Not really. Everything is still pretty much the same. Except for a few new buildings, nicer cars, a metro and some other stuff, the DR is still the DR.

Mr. Lu

Reactions: Adrian Bye

bienamor

Kansas redneck an proud of it
Apr 23, 2004
Where

-NALs

They have lights in Conn. Nals? because we don't here. and they have finally admitted that it the gov not the capacity, wonder of wonders.
Black top is still full of holes, kids are still only going 4 hrs a day to school, more traffic, but less work.

Right different country, move back down here

mountainannie

Platinum
Dec 11, 2003
elizabetheames.blogspot.com
AH, I think the METRO is a really cool tourist attraction. I would not have gone if my sister had not made me. It is amazingly clean since there is no food at all allowed in the train. And there is NO CROWDING allowed at all even if you want to, and of course the Dominicans are used to crowding in but there are special Metro police to stop that. And the Train goes high up over the city and that is beautiful. Now if only there were a GIANT HELADOS BON at the end of the LINE so that we could have sat and had ice creams it would have been great.