Barahona-New Construction

Feb 15, 2005
Every new Ministry has pro-occupation with a region and it seems that the south is this term's region.

They say that wheres theres smoke there fire. Hopefully, this is PR before the works. I know however, that there is a study being conducted, right at this moment, to determine the stress on infrastructure and natural resources.

minerva_feliz

May 4, 2009
I am confused, where exactly are these hotels supposed to be built? Casa Bonita? San Rafael? Paraiso? Canoa? City of Barahona? Pedernales?

Tourism in Barahona is like the story of the boy who cried wolf. Plans and projects have been announced so many times, including by politicians around key election times to play upon the hopes and dreams of poor surenos, that nobody believes it anymore. I don't. Don't get me wrong, I love Barahona and am rooting for the region and its people, but I just don't buy it anymore.

I'm not a tourist expert or insider, but I have been around the area long enough to see very little going on or taking off. Well, other than "missionaries" who go to the bateys and spend time as tourists. Will tourism increase here someday? Sure, but it will always be a small niche market of more adventurous, Spanish-speaking eco-oriented tourists. It will never compete with the east or north coast. Any major changes in Barahona will not be seen, in my opinion, until 20+ years. I won't hold my breath and won't open up any business down here to ride the tides of tourism promises that don't get followed through.

I know however, that there is a study being conducted, right at this moment, to determine the stress on infrastructure and natural resources.