why are you an ex-pat?

dominicanlou

Jul 30, 2009
if you don't mind sharing, what is your reason for living in the DR?

what has motivated you to remain there?

i would love to hear your responses!

dominicanlou

Jul 30, 2009
im sorry. i searched many different search terms and couldnt find any thread that dealt with this topic exclusively. do you recall thread names, by any chance? general "why are you an expat" isnt working at all.

just went thru all the pages and found it on number 20 or so.

thanks

Last edited:

whirleybird

Silver
Feb 27, 2006
Although the 'search function' is a great friend, I agree that it is sometimes difficult to get recent information on a topic of choice and, as I have no problem sharing my experience a number of times, I will attempt to answer the OP's queries.

We came to live in the DR for a number of reasons. Firstly, to enjoy warm weather where our ageing bodies would feel more comfortable rather than 'surviving' in damp, cold England. Secondly, cost of property and living here in comparison to other countries. Thirdly, we 'fell in love' with the smiling, happy people here (not all are like that, I know) but, for the most part, although many are poorer, they are a damned sight happier than most people in the UK! Finally, we wanted out of the EU so ended up here.

Been here just over 3 years now, apart from Mr. WB's stay back in the UK for 10 months whilst they diagnosed and treated his cancer..... why do we stay? Because it has fulfilled all the hopes and dreams we had in the previous outlined criteria and we are lucky in that, where we live, we have (as yet) had no real adverse experiences.

Hope this helps to answer you.

Matilda

RIP Lindsay
Sep 13, 2006
Came as a diving instructor on 6 month contract. Met and married Dominican. Still here 9 years on. Life is not always easy but always fun.

Matilda

dominicanlou

Jul 30, 2009
is it ex-pat or expat?

i typed it with a dash everytime. perhaps that is the error. again, sorry.