Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Protection against hurricanes

I have been tuning into the weather news for some years and have the northcoast on my list, since it always seems to get hit by hurricanes. My question is how do you expats protect yourselves from these potentially lethal storms? I would hope that you would plan to overbuild in preparation for the inevitable event. So, I would be interested to hear some stories as to your experiences during these storms and how your homes fared. I am an architect here in the US and have always designed buildings with seismic events in mind, far beyond the minimum code standards. Actually, here in the US, wind often dominates over seismic so I am well aware as to how to design for high wind areas. What do you do in the DR to protect your homes? I have thought about working in the DR on just such projects to insure that your investment in your home is well protected by following structurally sound practices. And I am more than willing to offer some guidance in this area.

Ron

Bronze
    Post Thanks / Like

Uhhh? This is a surprise to me. I thought no major hurricane has hit the north coast of the DR in over a decade. Yeah, maybe the odds are against us now.

Regular
    Post Thanks / Like

Excuse me if I am mistaken. I have tracked hurricanes for some 10 years, because I used to live in Cuba and always followed their tracking, so I thought that the north coast go hit as frequently as other areas of the DR.

Platinum
    Post Thanks / Like