Any way to restore dried out cigars?

GringoCArlos

Retired Ussername
Jan 9, 2002
A call for help to Hillbilly, or other experts: I just discovered I still have a box of very fine and delicious cigars, but unfortunately they have been squirreled away for almost a year and have gotten kind of "crispy". They are still in their tubes in the box.

Is there anything I can do to restore moisture to them to make them "smokeable" again???? I am drooling at the thought. Thanks in advance.

cassieann

May 9, 2009
apple cigars mmm

Chop a nice juicy apple up and put it in with them if they are very dry you may have to keep doing it for a couple of days, it will also make them taste slightly of apple but the other is potato lol far better the apple

Malibook

Bronze
Jan 23, 2002
www.yourtraveltickets.com
I am no expert, actually I can't stand cigars, but a few of my friends are fanatics and they say to put them in a cigar humidor with distilled water.
Apparently you need to slowly get the moisture back in without shocking them.

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Are they in tubes?
Okay:
Get a large sealable container.
Put the tubes, opened, in the container, an put a dampened paper towel, folded a bit to insure that no water gets to the cigars, on top. Put this in a cool place, like the floor of you closet, if your room is air conditioned, or the veggie drawer of your fridge. Leave them there for a few days...do not rush this. Repeat it a couple of times. Then carefully feel one of the cigars to test it...Do not rush this process...it took a year to dry out, it will take a couple of weeks to get back the freshness, at least.

Of course, I share your pain, and JD does have a good heart ...(NOT!!)

HB

What Malibrook said is also viable IF you have a good humidor...then it will take a couple of months, perhaps...but it is viable.

Aspire

Nov 11, 2007
I put them in a sealed sandwich/storage bag with a piece of bread & moist paper towl, then place them in the frig for a week or so.