Someones stealing my idea.

tempoe

Nov 4, 2008
Well, here goes.

I had this idea for a new Free booklet full of coupons for the tourist areas around Cabarete and Sosua, possibly P.P. The coupons would be a good way to offer discounts and see how effective your advertising was. I have done other magazines for a living and did CabareteLife back in '04.

So I met some lady that wanted to work with me so I told her I wanted her to do "all the sales, get the text and logos by email and collect the money", thats it. I would do all the design, production, printing and distribution. For this I offered her 50% of all sales (a very generous amount IMO) She gladly accepted so I did her some cards and a mock-up of how the booklet would look and coupon designs and sent her out to start doing some sales. I guess the 50% made her feel like she was a partner or something and she kept on making suggestions about how to make more money (dumb ones) like "we should sell them for $5 at the airport" (but they will be free everywhere else) Or, "drive me to P.P. and go to all the appointments with me"....what? that's why I'm giving you 50%.

Anyways after her not responding to my emails for 6 days, yesterday I sent her an email saying I didn't need her help anymore. She sends me back that she is doing it on her own, after shes been showing my designs and selling ads and taking deposits. She has NO EXPERIENCE with print or design, is not a resident and has no assets or reason not to leave any time. I've live here 10 yrs and own a condo, so I'm not going anywhere soon.

Sorry for the rant, but if she comes to see you, just so you know the whole story.

Last edited by a moderator:

Robert

Stay Frosty!
Jan 2, 1999
dr1.com
It happens and if people see it successful, they will copy it.

Selling the ad space is the hard part and the only way of doing that is being pro-active and leg work.

Jan 17, 2009