What do YOU do for living in DR?

miozio

May 23, 2009
I was wondering which means of support most of the expats have here in DR? I was hoping to hear from business owners and how good they do on the island. I've lived and worked in Italy for 7 years and had a tour company there. Btw, most of tourism in Rome is taken care of by the expats from the US and UK. I can see that most of this job is done by native Dominicans here, my question is, how come there are no tour guides from other countries, are they being pushed out?

I am not trying to start a tour company here, i have my means of support as i am a web developer , can work away from the office, i was just curious :)

cobraboy

Pro-Bono Demolition Hobbyist
Jul 24, 2004
I do what most ex-pats do.

I walk down the roads, pick up the chunks of gold and sell them to passing SUV's with gubmint plates.

miozio

May 23, 2009
Oh, sorry for asking, mods please delete my thread, it is not welcome here!

Sep 22, 2009

The question seemed pretty innocuous. What's wrong with "Hey, what do people do here to earn a living?"

Being a New Yorker, I may think this cat is fishing. But perhaps he is being honest.

Out of the many types of ex-pats, I can identify the follwing types I have personally met over the years:

1) The folks who came on holiday and loved it so much, decided to stay/move here.

2) Folks who met Dominicans abroad and came with them to meet family or see the place.

3) Investors (real estate/other) who stay full-time or most of the year because of vested interests.

Above, 1 and 2-types must have capital (for the most part) to earn a living. Many do and many just "wing" it. I would also imagine that we get the occasional high-plains drifter these days living his 6 monts of unemployment financing, and then must return home.

Many with their own capital "may" have started real estate businesses, restaurants, pubs, cafes, etc. I know many.