quick wasp sting relief

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
this thread is mainly to share my pain.
i was stung by a wasp. twice. in my face: nose and eyebrow. hurts like hell and swelling is proceeding. i am not allergic but i took claritidine just in case plus a pain killer.
but i would appreciate any advice as to more immediate relief: do i put ice on it? butter (or other grease)? some ointment?
please help! :(

jrhartley

Gold
Sep 10, 2008
vinegar - but possibly not round your eye,actaully most things just delay the swelling.You will get it eventually
Im an expert on wasp/bee stings - there are various sizes of wasps

dv8

Gold
Sep 27, 2006
no baking soda at home :(
but i rubbed vinegar in my face. feels a bit better, i think, but i smell like a cheap wine factory...

jrhartley

Gold
Sep 10, 2008
you will get followed by strange british people now- let me know if anyone tries to lick your face

Drake

Bronze
Jan 1, 2002
Menthol

Here they put Menthol on stings which is like Vics cream but i never found it does much.

beeza

Silver
Nov 2, 2006
Is it wasp season at the moment? There are hundreds of the little buggers at my house.

What's the best way to get rid of them? The Baygon green seems to be quite effective. It downs them immediately. I then remove their little paper houses, but new ones come back and start making a new one almost an hour later!

They also seem to like my garage. When I'm down there working on my car, I go armed with my can of Baygon and have to give it a good spraying every half hour. They swarm there!

i've only been stung once, and it hurts like hell! I'll try the vinegar trick next time if it happens, but I'd rather be rid of them completely.

bienamor

Kansas redneck an proud of it
Apr 23, 2004
hum

Toothpaste works on burns, perhaps it will work on stings. Get some witch Hazel if possible.

The baking soda, or a meat tenderizer. make a paste and apply, don't know if some of the natural tenderizers would work or not.

Lambada

Gold
Mar 4, 2004