Travel in december - please help! - non AI

Status
Not open for further replies.

amberrenae

Nov 17, 2009
Hi,

So I am new to this, and have been planning my week long trip to DR (dec. 17 through Dec 24) and have some questions. I unfortunately have found little info on the things I am about to ask, since most people are looking for the AI scene, and thats not what I am interested in, so sorry in advance for all the ?s. I am a mid-20s female traveling alone, have some experience backpacking, and know enough spanish to get by. I am looking for beginning surf, relaxing beaches, and some kind of communal scene and budget accomodation where I can meet people, and with some nightlife. I want to spend four days in Cabarete, day trip to Sosua. Then am debating on how to spend the next two days- between the interior (jarabacoa) or in santo domingo. I am afraid Jarabacoa will be too secluded and I wont be able to meet people, but I am interested in doing some of the activities there(whitewater rafting, hiking...). Advice please? Am also hoping you can let me know which of these areas would be the safer option, since I will be alone.

1. Any advice on Non AIs in Cabarete to stay in. I am not high maintenance at all, and am looking for budget accommodations, where I can meet other young people, any budget hotels (haven't seen anything about hostels) or eco hotels of some sort? Any ideas are welcome.

2. Does anyone know which area of Cabarete or surrounding cities is best for beginning surf or a place where I can get surf lessons? Are surfboards easy to rent ther/lessons easy to find? And do I need to book in advance?

3. Is it necessary to book accommodation before I go, and how far in advance. I am not sure with these smaller places.

4. Any advice of somewhere I haven't listed that you feel may be a better fit for my style, where I can meet people easily and may have more of a laid back backpacker vibe?

Any advice is welcome. Thank you.

jalencastro

Bronze
Dec 15, 2004