Possible Move to SDQ with Kids - Questions

shehmeth

Dec 6, 2009
Hello to All,

We live in Florida, and we have two small kids (a girl who is now 6 and a boy 21 months). I'm a professor at a local university, and my husband works in the cargo industry.

There's a possibility for a move to the DR - Santo Domingo - due to my husband's work.

We've lived before in the DR, but this was before we had kids... so we have a few questions before we take the plunge, in case the opportunity materializes.

We homeschool our children, and plan to continue to do so; we would like to know if there are other homeschool families in the Santo Domingo area.

We do not homeschool for religious reasons; but rather for educational ones.

We have a great support group here in Florida from both religious and secular Homeschool Support Groups that are All-Inclusive. Through them the kids have a History Club / co-op, and Science 4H, and park days or field trips, or simply hanging out with other homeschool children.

We understand that this kind of network (field trips, park days, clubs or co-ops) might not be the case in the DR or in Santo Domingo, so we would like to know if there are homeschool families in the Santo Domingo area, that maybe get together from time to time, or just for the kids to have friends that are homeschooled as well.

Our household is fully bilingual (English and Spanish) and so is our schooling.

The kids and me, take violin classes, following the Suzuki Violin method, are there any Suzuki Violin teachers in Santo Domingo or its surroundings?

In terms of work for myself, there's no issue, I can continue to work with the university, teaching online courses as I have done in the past (I teach business courses).

Thank you so much,

Kate ;)

Nov 25, 2008