want to move, need job

Malakina

Dec 13, 2009
hello everyone. I'm from Germany and would like to move to the Dominician Republic for a longer period of time. My Spanish is not that good yet though.
In Germany I did a aprenticeship as a truck mechanic/electrician and also worked a while after the apprenticeship.If I count the time I worked as a truck mechanic its totaly about 4 years. I also did a driving licence for trucks of any kind in Germany. Now I'm doing a higher degree in school and working part time in my parents engineer office.

So my questions are :
-If I want to have a dominician driving licence for the truck, do I need to do the whole exam again or just driving or can I maybe even just transfer my German driving licence?

-Does anyone know adresses where I could find a job as a truck driver/mechanic/electrician?
I would also take any other job. It doesnt realy matter to me which job I do.
All I want is to have a life in the Dominician Republic =)

I hope you got some useful infos for me =)
thx in advance

greetings
Martin Schemmel

Hillbilly

Jan 1, 2002
Martin: You do NOT want to be a truck driver in the Dominican Republic. You could barely make a living. Besides the fact that the syndicates here are very, very closed and not usually open to foreigners.
Another consideration is that "truck driver" does not have the same meaning here as in the EU or the USA...where, generally speaking, it is a respected and tough profession. Here, they are just slightly above peon status.

Think about staying in Germany, making your parent;s business even better, and taking vacations here.. You will be happier in the long run.

HB

J D Sauser

Silver
Nov 20, 2004
www.hispanosuizainvest.com