HELP! - Invisible Critters In My Pool

TOOBER_SDQ

Bronze
Nov 19, 2008
I have an in-ground Jacuzzi in Santo Domingo. It’s pretty big as far a Jacuzzis go, and could be considered a small pool; I’d be surprised if it held more than 1500 gallons of water. It is surrounded by cement, not grass.

Lately, something has been biting the crap out of me when I use it. I notice it more when I use it at night.

I don’t see anything swimming in the water and I don’t see any bite marks/ bumps on my skin; just stinging. Guests have also experienced this.

I use chlorine tablets, but do not go overboard other with specialty pool chemicals because I am an amateur and the volume of water is small enough that I just drain it and refill each time the water needs to be changed.

I run the water through the sand filter, but that doesn’t seem to help. I keep getting bit.

Does anyone have any idea what it is that is biting me and/or recommended solutions to this problem?

Thanks.

Last edited:
Sep 22, 2009
I have an in-ground Jacuzzi in Santo Domingo. It?s pretty big as far a Jacuzzis go, but too small to be considered pool. But I?d be surprised if it held more than 1500 gallons of water. It is surrounded by cement, not grass.

Lately, something has been biting the crap out of me when I use it. I notice it more when I use it at night.

I don?t see anything swimming in the water and I don?t see any bite marks/ bumps on my skin; just stinging. Guests have also experienced this.

I use chlorine tablets, but do not go overboard other with specialty pool chemicals because I am an amateur and the volume of water is small enough that I just drain it and refill each time the water needs to be changed.

I run the water through the sand filter, but that doesn?t seem to help. I keep getting bit.

Does anyone have any idea what it is that is biting me and/or recommended solutions to this problem?

Thanks.