Why was the DR spared and for how long?

Jan 3, 2003
I am no expert on temblors so I would like to know WHY and for how long. Someday, the DR will face a similar catastrophe and then what?

Last edited:

ExtremeR

Silver
Mar 22, 2006
One thing I am observing through the wide variety of photoes of this sad catastrophe is that most of the Haitian structures lacked rebars, I've been trying to find one in every picture but still haven't seen any.

Chirimoya

Dec 9, 2002
In this particular instance, the location of the epicenter.

Now that such a big one has hit, is it more than wishful thinking to suppose that the tension building up in the tectonic plates was released and it will be a long time before the next?

Roark

Jan 14, 2010
One thing I am observing through the wide variety of photoes of this sad catastrophe is that most of the Haitian structures lacked rebars, I've been trying to find one in every picture but still haven't seen any.

I have seen reinforcing steel in most of the major downed [concrete] structures. The mass-housing (Earthen-type material and tin roof) obviously does not have this.

Rebar is only as good as the quality of the concrete blocks, mortar and its placement within the concrete structure. If the earth shifts under 2 sections of a home [like at a T], it will most like "tear at the seams".

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
In this particular instance, the location of the epicenter.

Now that such a big one has hit, is it more than wishful thinking to suppose that the tension building up in the tectonic plates was released and it will be a long time before the next?
The strongest earthquake to have ever hit the island since records have been kept was in the mid-1940s in the DR. That earthquake was over 8.0 in the Ritcher scale.