Senegal offers land to Haitians

ginjer29

Jan 14, 2010
Senegal offers land to Haitians

I hope they know what type of financial/political commitment this requires. :surprised

I'm not familiar with Senegal so I started looking around for information on it From what I was able to gather they are improving their financial status but like DR this is a work in progress. They are still some ways off from financial stability. Their offer is unexpected and took me by surprise.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I wonder how many will take up this offer.

Isn't leaving Haiti to go to Senegal like leaving Mexico to go to the DR?

Correct me if I'm wrong BUT what is so great about all this.
The only thing that is "great" about this is the gesture of solidarity, but that's pretty much it.

First, how are the Haitians suppose to get there? The Senegalese president has not sent an airplane or boat/ship to Haiti, at least its nowhere to be seen in the news. Unless Haitians are very good swimmers, chances are that not even one Haitian will make it there.

Second, judging by all the reports, the most miserable people right now are Haitians that live in the cities. Since when does young urban people are willing to move to "the middle of nowhere" with no prospects for jobs?

Third, the Senegalese offer, despite appearing to be of good gesture, seems to me to be a highly irresponsible act. They didn't put a limit, even considering accepting mass number of peoples. Considering the situation Senegal finds itself in economic/social terms, my guess is that they simply don't know what they are getting themselves into or they don't expect many Haitians to accept to the offer.

The only thing Haitians have going for them in Senegal, in my opinion, is that they will be in an Afro-Francophone country similar to Haiti. Everything else is not so clear.

Senegal
Median Age: 18.6
Urban: 42%
Life Expectancy: 59 years
Literacy: 39.3%
GDP Per Capita: US$1,600
Labor Force: 4.973 million