More quakes for Haiti, DR, and Jamaica ???

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
This is pure sensationalism. The entire Caribbean island archipelago, the entire Pacific coast of North and South America, and elsewhere in the world must prepare for more earthquakes.

This has been knowing since the times of Columbus.

Conchman

Silver
Jul 3, 2002
www.oceanworld.net
I thought quakes usually release tension in fault lines, lessening the possibility of another big quake.

There are noted exceptions however, in 1946, within a few weeks, there were two large quakes (+8.0) in the Samana region, also in 1811-1812, within a few weeks, were two large quakes in the Missouri/Tennessee area (one that caused the Mississippi to run backwards for several days).

Acira

Silver
Sep 20, 2009
www.blazingfuries.com
I don't think its sensation seeking, its pure direct research. When one faultline releases its pressure, for sure other plates connected to the ones moved will be put out of place and the faultlines of these plates will become more under pressure then, but the fact remains that it stay's unpredictable when, where and how this pressure will be released.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I don't think its sensation seeking, its pure direct research. When one faultline releases its pressure, for sure other plates connected to the ones moved will be put out of place and the faultlines of these plates will become more under pressure then, but the fact remains that it stay's unpredictable when, where and how this pressure will be released.
And the fault lines that cross through Hispaniola also pass through the other islands, which means the pressure can be released anywhere ( for example, the fault line resposible for the earthquake in Port-au-Prince also passes through Kingston, Jamaica). Plus, there are other fault lines around the world currently under pressure as well.